Newbie - start me batman

First things first -
Great to find this forum and -
thanks in advance.

I’m a (unemployed) s/w engineer and pretty knowledgable on systems, and I am willing and able to do the homework and rtfm for any and all products discussed here. Yet, as everyone, I too have a life so I seek to minimize time spent running down info and trouble shoot hardware. I’m willing to buy software, I just want to know it works first. I’m willing to accept a piece of hardware sucks, I’d just like reasonable proof. Obviously once I get a real job again things will get easier, but for now - cost counts more than ever. I’d like to share info, and ask some questions as I’m pretty new to the burner world. That said -

Equipment/config:

• WIN 2000 Prof. w/latest SP’s
  • Abit KT-7 RAID, VIA (KT133?) chipset. Athlon TBird 850Mhz. RAID disabled, occasionallly enabled for hard/mirror backup.
  • 256MB RAM, 1GB virtual.
  • 7200 rpm hard drives, should be running with ATA100 on their own IDE channel. 30GB System drive, 80GB data drive.
  • Buslink DVDRW/8X DVD ±R/±RW (new) IDE0 Master (secondary IDE channel, ATA/33 I believe)
  • TDK Velocd CDRW 40/12/48B IDE0 Slave
  • As best I can tell DMA is enabled (VIA - has auto setting) for all disk devices.
  • USB printer and joystick/wheel, thumb drive - all work, but USB is early VIA v1.0 and its VERY flaky. Printer often goes wacko.
  • Adaptec 2940 UW SCSI, currently unused, but occasionally external SCSI devices (ie: Jazz) connected. I don’t believe I’m running their ASPI, but I may be. I think WIN2K likes to use its own (How to check/confirm?)
  • Creative SB Live Platinum w/ live drive
  • ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon graphics (AGP)
  • Firewire PCI interface card.
  • 3Com 10/100 PCI Ethernet card.

That’s about it. Everything is working pretty well (knock on wood). No overclocking currently.

My questions are these:

1. New DVD burner. Which DVD copy tools do you recommend?
    (see my list below)