Newbie questons on Video capture to Encoding

I am new to the world of Digital video capturing and editing, curtesy of purchasing a Sony DCR-HC37 cam. I am have few questions which no doubt are are easy for some users on these boards.

1. How do I know (or which tool to use to verify) that I am not dropping frames when capturing footage to my computer. This is via Firewire card.

2. I am getting about 1Gb of avi file for about 5 minutes of footage. I want to be able to archive this footage on my external HD. But I need to reduce the space it takes as I can’t afford that much disk space. Please suggest the best encoder to use for minimal data loss and reasonable reduction in file size (i.e compression). Also which format should I keep the archived stuff in for later easy authoring.

3. The toughest question yet: I got my self Ulead Movie Factory 6+ as part of the process. I am mostly happy with it. However, when it encodes the avi file to mpeg2, I notice the detoriation in quality i.e slight jerking/blurring of footage. To the point that it is slightly stressful on the eye to watch it. This is most obvious when panning a landscape. I got other encoders which are not that much better (TMpgenc, mainconcept etc). I have had the Bitrate setting at constant 6000kbps but still marginally there. Anyone else had the experience/suggestions or am I being too fussy! My PC is a Pentium 4 2.3Ghz and 1 Gb of RAM Dell Optiplex 280 box

Thanks in advance for your help

1. Don’t know–don’t have a camcorder. But was under the impression that simple transfers via firewire didn’t incur dropped frames very often. Haven’t read much about this. Someone else with more experience will probably chime in and tell me I’m full of it, but I least I admit ignorance now and again :slight_smile: