Newbie Question: ClonyXXL + Cd-Checks

vbimport

freeks,

i've burnt a few games successfully but, having never had the fortune of encountering something like SD2.51, i am still a bit of a newbie to the art of copy protection workarounds.

i have a question about cd-checks that i couldn't really find an answer to on the boards and that is this:

since a cd-check does not reality qualify as a copy protection scheme, per say, i've found that clonyxxl doesn't explicity detect such a thing (even though it has "cd-check" settings) and will, instead, only say "no protection or unknown protection". please correct me if i am wrong on that.

for instance, i am trying to burn spiderman - the movie game, which has cd-checks according to a few posts on here, but my clonyxxl 2.0.0.6 is showing no copy protection.

my question is, is it alright to go ahead and import the default "no protection or unknown protection" settings into clonecd for cds protected only by checks? i'm confused because clonyxxl's "none detected" settings do not read the sub-channels or anything like that, whereas if you manually choose the cd-check settings, the sub-channels ARE read. so it would seem to me that you would HAVE to know if cd-checks are in place before you burnt so you'd know to read the sub-channels. short of checking sites like gamecopyworld, etc, how would you know then if your game had cd-checks since clonyxxl doesn't explicity detect them?

what is more confusing to me is that most of the posts i've seen that talk about cd-checks seem to equate them really to no protection at all. which makes me think that reading the sub-channels doesn't even matter then. :confused:

or maybe clonyxxl DOES show cd-checks after a scan and i'm just doing something wrong.

this is probably a stupid question with a stupid answer, but i hope it makes sense! i appreciate any help whatsoever. :bow:

e-drip

Maybe this is not a protection…
Maybe is just a regular CD check 2 see if the CD is in the drive…