Newbie Question: Anyone using DVD Rebuilder or Scenarist NT?

vbimport

I’ve read a number of posts here regarding DVD backup using various software (CloneDVD, DVD2One, ShrinkDVD, Nero Recode2, etc) and each user satisfied with their backup.

After many months of debating whether to buy a DVD burner or not, I finally got one yesterday to back up my DVD collection. Being a total newbie at this, I am trying to find out which is the best backup software for me, before I purchase anything.

My requirements are: … Best quality as possible.

As I understand, CloneDVD, DVD2One, Shrink DVD, etc …all do the entire decoding/encoding/burning etc…in 1 pass…at the press of 1 button.

I’ve heard about other software like DVD Rebuilder, Scenarist NT, and a few more…that does a better job than the 1 pass backup software…but take a lot longer time cause its more than 1 pass (upto 5).

Time isnt a factor for me or money. I just want the best quality for my DVD+R.

I am using Lite-On SOHW-812S burner and RICOHJPNR01 media.

Any DVD Rebuilder users care to shed more light on this issue?

Mmmh, if your main aim is best quality: Why don’t you split the movies over 2 DVDs. You will get 100% picture quality then.
I don’t know the progs you mentioned, but CloneDVD2 is said to have execellent movie quality. BUT, none of the progs is a wizard. If you have to compress the movie, you lose quality. So it’s up to you: Compress the whole DVD, or leave out the extras or split the dvd…
But as I said, if you just want pure quality, you have to split the DVD9 to 2 DVD5.
Allthough, IMHO you can hardly see any difference between 100% and 80%, surely depends on the quality of your player and the size of your TV/Beamer or whatever.

Regards, Monty