Newbie Problems with a LiteOn 851S

vbimport

I am new to DVD burning and have what may seem a couple of obvious questions, so please bear with me:

1. Which are the best media for my writer?

2. I have done some back ups using DVD Decrypter followed by DVD shink, why in around 20% of the cases do the back up films play perfectly well for the first two thirds of the film and then begin freezing at the end? Similar problems with ANY DVD and DVD Clone. Are there better programmes than these??

3. Why can’t other people seem to read programmes, films etc I’ve put onto DVD? They seem to freeze their computer.

4. What is Smart Burn and how do I know if it on or off?

All my drivers and firmware are up to date.

All advice greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

Hello, welcome to the forum…

1/ Please see the stickied FAQ.

2 & 3/ You have not provided enough info. See the posting guidelines (the “Please read before posting in this forum!” announcement at the top of the LiteOn forum) and look at #4 in the guidelines.

4/ It’s just a fancy marketing name for the drive’s media control. It’s always on, and not something to be concerned about either way…

Welcome. I have been reading this forum for a bit, but I still think of myself as mostly a newbie, and I had much the same questions as you. But I thought I might try to help a bit, so here goes.

First off, follow any advice code65536 gives, or any of the Code Guys for that matter, as well as a whole bunch of other regular posters who know shloads about this drives. They will point you in the right direction.