Newbie needs help with UJDA745 update procedure

vbimport

Hi all, I hope it’s alright that I ask for help with doing the most basic of computer stuff; I am not technical at all, and need things spelled out for me.
I originally placed this message on the Lenovo forum, but no-one answered. I have found people on this forum very helpful, so I’m confidnat that someone will not consider my question too basic to answer.

I have a refurbished Thinkpad T40.
I’ve had problems with it since I got it 8 months ago, and have been getting advice from the CD Freaks forum. The general concensus is that the Matshita UJDA 745 drive is probably to blame for the majority of my problems (can’t use CDRW’s, problems with DVDFab, System Restore won’t work, and others). It was suggested that I follow the steps on the Lenovo page for updating it’s firmware;
“CD-ROM, CD-RW, DVD, CD-RW/DVD drive firmware update utility (Bootable CD ISO) - ThinkPad General”
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-62296

I have done what I could understand. I downloaded the software, burned it onto a CD. I went into the BIOS and wrote down what I found in BIOS> BIOS Setup Utility> Startup> Boot.
The next step is to move “ATAPI CDO” to the top of the list, but I don’t have that. My list looks like this;

B O O T
Removable Devices
-Legacy Floppy Drives
Hard Drive
-IC25N040ATCSO5-0-(PM)
CD ROM Drive
IBA 4.1.07 Slot0240

I’m assuming that this step is to make the computer go first to the CD drive, on startup, to make it start up using the utilities I burned onto the CD. I don’t know what I should move to the top of the list.