Newbie needs help to burn pics onto DVD

Hi,

I have about 17,000 pictures from a year round the world trip I just came back from. These photos are very precious to me. I have been a photographer for years, but recently just switched to digital. All the technical information I have been reading on this site about digital storage is over my head and very overwhelming.

This is the first time I have been informed about how the quality of your DVD burn can be affected. I just thought you burn something, it either burns properly or it doesn’t. I was unaware the quality could be compromised and possibly make the DVD unreadable in the future.

If anyone has the time to give me some guidance, it would be greatly appreciated. I just bought the new Pioneer 112D burner. A computer store installed the burner for me while I was getting some other work done. They have given me Nero burning software.

I have read about all these tests people do, making sure you are using the right firmware, burning at the correct speed, etc. It all seems so complicated. I just bought a 100 size pack of Taiyo Yuden DVD+R 8X DVD after reading many reviews, they seemed a good choice.

Are there any simple things I can do to ensure I am saving my pictures in the best way possible. I hope I have provided enough information for someone to be of assistance.

Thank you.

P.S. Probably a really dumb question, but I have never seen DVD likes this before. The TY ones I just bought… are they double sided? Both sides look like they could be burnt on?

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

The better way to be sure that you will not lost data is redundancy, i.e. to make more than one copy for each disc.

Another very important thing is to buy excellent quality discs, i.e. Taiyo Yuden.

Another thing that could help to make your data more protected is to use a software like DVDisaster or PAR2, so if a sector on the disc become damaged, parity files still allows to recover data from the disc.