Newbie - lost on how to burn copyrighted dvds

Hi! I am a newbie and am frustrated beyond belief on how to copy copyrighted dvds. My kids scratch every new one I buy them so I want to have backups. My computer doesn’t have a dvd player or burner. I bought a dvd recorder for my tv and all is hooked up correctly. Only it of course tells me the dvd is copyrighted and I cannot copy my dvd. Please help me! This is my only quiet time with 2 kids on my ankles all day and I don’t understand half of the stuff I have been reading. I would be so thankful to anyone who can help me!

Kimjacob123

Moved to appropriate forum. :slight_smile:

Personally, I know next to nothing about copying dvds with a stand-alone recorder. However, I would strongly recommend that you get a dvd burner installed into your computer if you want to make back-up copies of your dvd collection.

Pc based dvd burners do a great job both with relatively inexpensive and even with free software, they’re now really as cheap as chips and there’s no reason not to have one on your system. Plenty of help for you here and elsewhere if you run into any problems too. :slight_smile:

The DVD recorder I think will only record TV shows. I would suggest you pick up a DVD burner for your computer in order to be able to backup your DVDs. BTW, nearly all DVDs are copyrighted nowadays. So pick up a Benq, NEC, Plextor, or LG DVD burner for like $40-$60 USD. Then you can use free software like DVDShrink and DVDdecrypter or Nero to rip the copyrighted DVD and then burn them. After purchasing the burner, you will need to pick up some DVD media and if you are using it primarily for backup of movies then I’d recommend DVD-R media like Verbatim or Sony but if you are worried that your kids will wreck them too quickly then you could use slightly cheaper media like Memorex.