Newbie here with a newly bought sohw 1673s

vbimport

Ok i have a small tale to tell.

Ok i bought this drive as it was the cheapest in a computer fair (local dealers go to these to sell there stock at trade prices or somit) so anyhow, i find one store had this for £33 so i thought i might as well get it as its got fast burning speeds and i think liteon can copy anything with things like clonecd and that.

Anyhow when i get back home i install the drive underneath my cdrw drive that i had already. Now the cdrw drive was set at master and new dvd rw (liteon) was set as slave. Now i know the instructions when installing said to have it as master but i thought whats really the difference between master and slave as long as there not both reading/writing at the same time. Right well anyhow so it was all installed and computer recognized it ok, i thought it was ok. I was wrong.

Ok first of all i tryed clearing files from hdd to (datawrite greytop 8x DVD -R 4.7gb oh and nero says it can only write 4.5gig why?) discs and the first things i tryed was burning some movies i have to them using nero 6 ultra. Seemed to go ok so i burned 2 copies one for me and one for bro. Now after that i used the liteon to do what i said i was going to do which was clear files off hdd so i had more space (bought it for this very reason as hdd were full practically).