Newbie here, what's a acceptable quality score?

vbimport

I just got my dw1650 today and first thing i did was flash it to the newest f/w BCHC, ran Qsuite, SB on for known, OS on. Burned 4x at 8x speed then ran nero cd speed and got a quality score of 90, is this acceptable?

Thanks

What you’ve got is quite acceptable, although the clusters of PIFs don’t look too good.

What is the quality like at 4x, it’s not always best to burn so fast.

I’ve just read some posts suggesting that SB Off for known media gives better burn quality and that actually is the Benq default.

Thanks Tim for the suggestion, i’ll try that out for my next burn.

Considering the media used, no, I would not be happy with burns of that quality. Do as TimC suggests and burn at the rated speed.

While you can burn TYG01’s at 8x it really depends on the batch you get.

Are you doing anything while burning? If so try not to and see how it goes.

I can burn my TYG01’s at 8x with great results but maybe I just have a good batch.

supapowa, welcome to the forum!

The PIF clusters seen in your first scan could easily be the result of some dust, fingerprints, scuff marks or other problem on the disc surface during burning or scanning.

Try looking at the disc under a strong light to check whether it’s clean next time you burn and scan - maybe that will help.

Great point DrageMester, since my past few batches have been so clean I
always forget about that. He is right though that will make a huge difference.

@supapowa

Congrats on the New BenQ 1650 Drive :slight_smile:

Where did you purchase?

Did you geta good price?

Mod.it

For me as a general guide a total PIF of over 2000 and it is going in the bin (the disk not the drive).

For me i would reburn that, as for me that is an extremelly poor burn and could definitely cause you problems with playback.

I do not agree with that :disagree:

And a[B]very good[/B] transfer :

Edit :