Newbie Here. Can someone rate my 1650 mcc04 scan?

vbimport

I burned this with the bcfc firmware on my dw1650 @ 12x with solidburn for known media on and wopc enabled. the media is 16x mcc04 verbatim. Should I RMA this drive or is this a good scan? thanks. also can someone point me to the direction of a tutorial to understand nero cd/dvd readings

That is considered as good quality and reliable scan.

Thumbs up.

Yes, that’s a nice scan.

You have a very good jitter (8,54 average).
The PIE errors will decrease after several burns with solidburn on.Thumbs up.

You can compare it to my burns here:
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=177925

Why would you want to RMA such a good drive???
Don’t expect a much better burn with this media!!! MCC04 has never been a state of the art media. It is a good media "dot"
This scan is consistent!!!

its like my 6th burn, how much is too much for PI Error totals? When should I start worrying about that? What about PI Failure totals?

Wiki says:
“A PIE is a “Parity Inner Error”. This represents the error at the first stage (Parity Inner) of error correction. This is measured in SUM8 by the standards, and only applies to DVDs. A guideline to a good disc is that the peak PIE value should not exceed 280”.

PIF should not exceed 32 (If I remember right)

ok so in Nero cd/dvd speed, that would be referring to the MAXIMUM section not the total, correct? So in my scan case

PI Error Max: 15
PI Failure Max: 7

Right? Just want to confirm and thanks a lot guys :slight_smile:

And the Jitter? should i look at the average or the maximum? What should it not exceed?

The maximum values can be a bit misleading, for example, on your scan, the Jitter maximum occurs right at the start of the disc and in my opinion can be ignored as the rest of the trace is pretty much flat. I often get a PIE spike right at the start of a scan, these I ignore.