Newbie - Editing Software Suggestions

Hello - I recently purchased a Sony DCR-SR40 and I want to burn the video recorded over to DVD. It came with some software but I’m not too impressed by what’s available in terms of changes you can make so I’m looking at possibly purchasing some more advanced software.

I’m not a professional by a long stretch and it’s not something I’ll be doing a lot although with a baby coming along in the next few weeks I imagine I will use it more than ever. Does anyone have any recommendations for intermediate type software that will give me some editing capabilities as well as graphics etc.? I was in Staples earlier and saw a couple of programs (Adobe Premiere Elements is the one I remember) but held off until I could ask some gurus.

Any suggestions or tips would be appreciated.

TIA

Adobe Premiere Elements 3.0 is a very good choice for what you are describing. It is able to import and edit mpeg2, which is the format your camera records. And it will output to dvd of course. Use good media for your burns, like Verbatim +R 16x disks.

One tip I can think of offhand is to shoot mostly in HQ (the highest quality setting). Since mpeg2 is a compressed format, you’ll want the highest bitrate you can get in your videos. Even at that setting, your hard drive will still hold approximately 7hrs of video.

I noticed that a standard DVD doesn’t hold a lot of video that I’ve shot. Can you compress this down further or will I just have to burn more DVD’s? I bought some DL DVD’s today from Staples thinking that I could get twice as much on those, is that accurate? They are expensive though so I’d rather not make too many coasters. lol

Thanks for the info on Adobe, I may end up going back for that program as its on sale now for $59 AR I believe from Staples. Any other suggestions?