Newbie dual layer issues

Hi gang. I’m new to dealing with dual layer dvd and am having issues. Using Memorex DVD+R DL disks with a a LiteOn burner. . I’m using Nero to burn data disks. The burn appears to go fine, with no errors, however, when I go back to attemp to explore the disk, nothing shows up. I’m not sure if there is a setting or something that I’m missing when burning to the dl media or not, but I’ve not had any issues other than attempting the dual layer stuff. Any assist is appreciated.

memorex is not a good DL media IMO, Try Verbatim.

I use Verbatim DVD+R DL and have had no coasters. A little pricey but you get what you pay for on DL disks.

[QUOTE=razorbackron;1968327]I use Verbatim DVD+R DL and have had no coasters. A little pricey but you get what you pay for on DL disks.[/QUOTE]

Yeah I use them too since yesterday.
But I got the same issues with them as I had with the cheap ones.
They burn perfectly as did the cheapies but my burner doesnt recognize them once they are burnt.

I can play them in my dvd player but I cant read the disc on my comp:(

[QUOTE=termimeister;1968362]Yeah I use them too since yesterday.
But I got the same issues with them as I had with the cheap ones.
They burn perfectly as did the cheapies but my burner doesnt recognize them once they are burnt.

I can play them in my dvd player but I cant read the disc on my comp:([/QUOTE]

Then this is not related to the media generally.

Open devicemanager, uninstall all IDE channels and then restart.
Also remove tools like ALCOHOL and DAEMON TOOLS.

when i switch off the IDE channels and start up it wont do a thing.
the only thing is that my D: drive is gone

[QUOTE=termimeister;1968979]when i switch off the IDE channels and start up it wont do a thing.
the only thing is that my D: drive is gone[/QUOTE]You should not switch them off (“disable”) but [B]uninstall [/B]them. Windows will reinstall them at the next reboot.