Newb Problem - Can't burn DVDs

Let me begin by saying that I am a complete Newb when it comes to this. I mean, I’m not a moron or anything. I can burn discs. Its just the terminology and technology behind it all that I know nothing about.

That being said, I have a fairly new system that has a DVD burner (Lite-On DVDRW SOHW-1633S). I never tried burning a DVD until yesterday and my Nero software stops the process almost immediately. I get an error message stating that I have an Illegal Disc in the drive.

I am using Verbatim DVD-R’s. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for any help!

The only thing I can think of that would explain your problem is that maybe your using the wrong type of DVD. There are two different types of DVD, being DVD-R and DVD+R (there may even be a ± variety, but not totally sure about that). There’s a good chance that your drive only supports one of those varieties. I’d suggest reading through the manual to see if it says (and I’m sure it does somewhere) what type of DVD media is recommended.

The LiteOn 1633 is already considered old. It depends on the firmware if your dvd’s (16x?) are recognised or not. I suggest you flash BS0Y http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares/dvdrw/1633S.BS0Y.patched-cf-mcled.rar
, or make your drive a 1653 by flashing CS0T, as I did, http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares/dvdrw/1653S.CS0T.patched-cf-mcled.rar.

:bigsmile: Leo

The DVD’s are indeed 16x. I was wondering if that was an issue.

I checked all the documentation I have for both the burner and Nero and can’t find anything that details the exact type of DVD to use.

And for the rest of the stuff you said, ldw…I have no clue what you are talking about! :smiley:

What is “flashing”?

And my machine is only a few months old. Serves me right for buying cheap.

The 1633 was known for being a poor 16X burner!!! you should try burning at 8X.
If you want to burn faster, I can only suggest you to crossflash your drive like ldw told you.