New to this Samsung SE S224 External Drive

vbimport

Hi, I am new to all this please bear with me as I am not very experienced with pc issues. I bought the above drive to help with ripping my dvds. The rips are taking 1 to 1.5 hours (using DVD Fab)., in contrast my internal LG dvd drive seems to average at 23 mins. I would like to use the Samsung as I think it is a better quality drive. I think some patched firmware should help (?) I have seen this software above for MTK drves - what does MTK stand for and is my drive one? If not can someone recommend me a firmware which will speed up my DVD ripping.

Thanks in advance.

Also is my drive ripping slow because of this RIPLOCK feature I have been reading about.

Hi :slight_smile:
Take a look here.
http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=External_Drive_Troubleshooter_-Performance_Issues-_My_drive_is_slow&vgnextoid=33434a3cdde5c010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD
Whilst referring to external hard drives.
The principle is the same.
You can see that internal theoretical transfer rates are much higher than external.
That said the ripping of discs shouldn’t take that much longer.
It obviously depends on your system.
In my case if it took say 12 mins to rip using an internal drive.
External might 15 > 20 mins.
The MTK stands for MediaTek I believe.
You should be able to get patched f/w.
But as far as I know your drive isn’t riplocked.
(That’s not to say, you couldn’t speed your drive up with patched f/w.)
Maybe updating USB drivers.
Would have more of an effect.
Defragging HDD too, is an option that might help.

N.B.Simple test for checking transfer rate is to use CD/DVDSpeed.
This will produce a graph clearing showing what your drive is actually achieving.