New to Lossless ripping/burning, need tips

vbimport

Hello, I’m pretty new to encoding/ripping/burning lossless music (my old computer didn’t enable me to rip many albums in lossless format due to space limitations) so I was just wondering, what is the best way to go about it? I want all the albums that I encode/rip to sound EXACTLY like the original source (A spot on match) I have been encoding albums using FLAC but I noticed that replaygain has been turned on, do you guys recommend leaving this on or not? Also, my friends have ripped a few albums for me (legal audio backup CD’s of bands they are in) and there is only one large audio file and a cue sheet. The only way I can get all the songs to appear in foobar is to first decode the large audio file, then I split the file into smaller audio files (individual songs) Then I re-encode the files using Flac. After doing this I can’t use the cue file to burn the album and this has become frustrating to me. Does anybody know what I can do to solve my problems? Thanks.

Do you own a stand alone component cd burner?

Well this is quite difficult but you will able to do it. You need EAC and as you said the FLAC encoder.

Well the first step is to configure EAC:

Go to EAC > Drive Options, and click on the button “Detect Read Features”, once you’ve clicked a box like this will appear:

If your drive caches audio data check the box “Drive cahces audio data”. About the C2 information it’s better not to use it because no drive is 100% accurate and it’s safe not to use it.

On the Offset/Speed tab, it’s better to use AccurateRip to find the Read Offset Correction of your drive. If you have different pressings of your CDs, check this list, find your drive and manually insert the read offset correction on the box. For editing in the box, you have to un-check “Use AccurateRip with this drive”.