New To Kprobe: Is this a good or bad scan?

vbimport

I’ve just started to learn all about “patching” DVD/RW drives. I’ve Omnipatched my 812S to an 832S VS0A with all checkboxes checked. My only 8x burn on 4x packaged media was to a Maxell branded RICOHJPNR01 disc.

Could someone please comment on this Kprobe scan as I am new to using it. Would this scan be considered bad, mediocre, good, excellent? Thanks for your time.

I am by no means an expert, but the rule of thumb I believe is to look for a PI max value of less than 280 and a PIF max value of less than 4. Since you have a 5 for PIF, technically it’s not considered a good scan, at least from what I’ve read.

Hi

That disc is almost perfect. I get same results from my ricoh medias. Certainly, ricoh is the best manufacturer of dvd+r atm.

regards

also if its just spikes it might be nothing to wory
you will need to play it and make sure

Ricoh ain’t the best. And Ricoh’s also rather variable in quality, as I’ve myself dealt with bad Ricoh batches before. The best +R is (and always has been) Taiyo Yuden. And at $0.76 each, they aren’t expensive, either. :wink:

hehe Code

Well sorry to hear that :(. Havent had any problems with ricoh medias so I cant really say anything bad. Maybe I should have added "best manufacturer of available hq medias, because TY discs arent well spread as the ricohs (europe).

regards

but to answer your question yes that looks like a good scan. you generally can ignore single spikes…right click on graph and use remove highest point to get rid of them.

Thanks for your replies guys!

C.

Agree with you ronallan22. :iagree: :iagree:

From where I live, TY discs are difficult to get and they cost a fortune (~ US$2 per disc). I can get RICOHJPNR01 (under the brand of Imation) for ~ US$0.9 per disc in packs of 25. It is probably not cheap by US or Europe standard, but is about the best quality/price ratio disc I can get over here.

Civuck

Yes, that’s a great scan. :slight_smile: :wink: