New to Forum & Prob with MCC004 Discs

Hi, I’m a newbie hurrah !

I am new to the forum and have spent several days reading and searching this wonderful site.

I am tearing my hair out with some new discs I’ve bought, the first time I’ve ever bought more than 100 in one go, and the first batch of 50 discs I’m getting an 80%(approx) verify failure rate with them. They simply refuse to verify properly, either with Nero (6) or ImgBurn 2.3.2.0. ImgBurn gives the following info about the discs:

LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-16H5S LS0W (ATA)
Current Profile: DVD+R

Disc Information:
Erasable: No
Free Sectors: 2,295,104
Free Space: 4,700,372,992 bytes
Free Time: 510:03:29 (MM:SS:FF)
Supported Write Speeds: 6x, 8x, 12x, 16x

Physical Format Information (ADIP):
Disc ID: MCC-004-00
Book Type: DVD+R
Part Version: 1
Disc Size: 120mm
Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
Number of Layers: 1
Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
Track Density: 0.74 um/track
First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,491,711
Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
Disc ID: MCC-004-00
Book Type: DVD+R
Part Version: 1
Disc Size: 120mm
Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
Number of Layers: 1
Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
Track Density: 0.74 um/track
First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,491,711
Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

I’ve tried writing at 12x & 8x and still get verify failures. The last 5 burns have failed consecutively to verify. Interestingly the discs do actually play fine in a DVD player/recorder !

I’m wondering whether a firmware upgrade is required for this new media ?

I installed Smartburn 3.1.16t and had to install the aspi32.dll in order for it to see the drive. (Only one option in Drive Setting is not greyed out - Disable Smart Burn).