New to DVDs (sorry for very beginners level questions)

vbimport

I am sorry that I am asking such beginner level questions. But I could not find anyother way to clear so many confusions.

I just bought a NEC 3520 and I am completely new to DVDs. I want to burn y data that I have on my hard disk to DVDs. I also want to copy movie DVDs on my hard disk, and also to burn DVD movies on DVDs. But I dont know what to do, how to do.
As I searched the forums, I came to know that Verbatim is making best DVDs. So I got answer of one question. But there are many more:

1. Which one I should buy, DVD-R or DVD+R?

2. What speed? NEC 3520 supports 16x. But I did not see 16x anywhere in shops. Only 4x or 8x are available. Which one I should buy?

3. I want to copy DVD movies on my hard disk. Somewhere I read about DVD Decrypter. But as I tried it, it copies whole DVD movie on hard disk. But I want it in compressed form. I have seen people watching ripped movies of 800-900 MB, in .avi formats. How can I do it?

4. I read some where that it is good to update the firmware to get higher speeds (I read somewhere that in order to get 16x speed, firmware update is must required). Should I update my firmware?

5. I want to burn lots of data that is on my PC. Can I use double layer DVDs?
    Will there be any problem with them?

6. I want to burn DVD movies on DVDs. What is its method? Do I need to DVD-drives for it? Which software I need for it?

Please help me about these questions. I know the questions are very basic level. Plz dont mind it.

use dvd shirink to rip 2 ur hardrive

you should be able to buy 16X. Look at newegg if in USA, and Ketta if UK

Yes, update ur firmware

Hmmm…Either + or - should do. Wait for some other people to reply

use nero to burn

u should b able to use dual layer dvd’s with no probs, but it will take longer to burn

@Furgaan. Do you want more post or something?? Don’t you know numbers!

1. I should choose for +. 'cause i had some problems with -