New to DVD Burning - Here are my specs

vbimport

I am relatively new to this. I have lots of movies that I want to back up. So please tell me if there’s any settings that I can improve on (besides getting a super-duper laptop)

• Dell D600 Laptop
  • External USB 2.0 Drive 7400 RPM (FAT32)
  • External HP DVD 940 Drive (Lightscribe) Dual Layer
  • DVD Fab 3.0.8.0
  • Usually burning at Dual Layer to get 100% Quality
  • Diskeeper to defrag my drives
  • Write at Low Speed 4X (if disc capability is 8x). Should I use the “Recommended” speed in DVDFab?
  • Sony DVD+R DL discs
  • What other settings should I set in DVDFab? I pretty kept it on Default.

infernox
the only thing I can see where you might have a problem is with the sony disks, myself and a few other people had trouble with them (some burners don’t like them) so now I only use verbatim, also using sl disks are much cheaper and you can still get great results with picture quality. You just have to try things to see how they go, if you have problems just ask and I am sure the great crew here will help you out. Have a nice day :slight_smile:
Jim

Yup, like Jim said, the sony discs may or may not be a problem. The only widely recommended DL media are the verbs, but you already have the sony’s and they’re working for you… Next purchase though, I’d look at the verbs.

I think you’d be better off actually choosing a write speed. Some folks run into problems with recommended…but always worked for me when I put it to the test. Personally, I write in the 8-10X range with 16X verbs and about 6X with 8X Taiyo Yuden. This works well with my system. 4X seems to work well for you based on your media, burner and write strategy, so I’d stay right there. I tend to write at 2.4X with DLs…yeah I can go faster, but my bkups are flawless and I’m not in much of a hurry.