New to burning DVDs and the resulting scans

vbimport

Hay, first time poster here. BTW, great site guys, keep up the good info.

Like the thread tittle says, I am a newbie to DVD burning. I just got a NEC 3520AW (stock FW of 3.04). And I have some free after rebate CMC discs to play with until my TYs come in later this week. The codes are AF1 and AE1. And I burned using DVDD. Now to the point of this thread, which of the two following scans are better? I know they aren’t good; as the media is just cheap junk, but which would you trust if you had to pick one of the two scans? And why?

Both scans don’t show any real problem areas so it’s hard to say which one is better. I also see you only burned around 2GB of data, this is too little to judge the media. Often, problems appear on the outer area of the disc so it would be better if you burned the complete 4.4GB of the disc and then scanned them again. Here is a link to our Media FAQ. There is a lot of useful information in there.

Good luck and welcome to the forums!

I am such a newbieee!!!

Ok got my TYs today from shop4tech (hope these are real TYs??). How do you limit the speed of the scan? I have 0x to maximum, but no matter what I select it always does the test at full speed…atleast I assume that is what the speed box should be doing, limiting the test speed??? Either I got a bad burn here, bad media, or I am doing something way wrong.

I :bow: to all your knowledge folks.

Try again at 8x and see what happens.

Ouch, I’d certainly wanna check into whether or not they’re real after that… Take a look on the underside of the disc at the center, I believe a real YUDEN will have a serial number starting with “TG” or maybe “GG” on the inner ring. While you’re looking at the bottom, are there any flaws in the dye? It should be a nice smooth purple. If there’s a splotch or something, grab a clean one and try again.