New to burning DVD - media question

vbimport

Hi - thanks for your patience here!

I’ve never burned a DVD before (existing movie to a backup disk). I downloaded AnyDVD/Clone DVD and was all ready to write them when I realized that the disks I have are not big enough.

This is for backup purposes, as I stated, so it’s not important for me to have top of the line media, but I do want a decent playback.

My computer is supposed to be able to burn double layers (whatever that means).

What media should I start to look for? If anyone can point me in a general direction, I would sincerely appreciate it!

Robin

Robin,

I’m a newbie myself, so this will just be a quick and very basic “how to”…

I’ve used the same software combination myself (Any/Clone) with excellent results…it is very easy to use and in general you’ll have no problems creating backups of your DVDs…

Now, on the specific question you are asking…the problem you are facing is that most commercial DVDs nowadays are in a format called DVD9, which means that they have a 9Gigs capacity (for about 4 hrs of video) to fit all the extras, etc. They achieve this by putting 2 layers of information on the same disk. Most common blank DVDs only have about half of the capacity because they only have one layer (a format called DVD5)

So, you can do several things:

1. Buy double layer media (DVD9) which is now easily available at most electronics stores (Best Buy, etc) to creat perfect copies of your CDs. The only cons is that this media is still relatively expensive. I would recommend this if the extra features on the DVDs are really important to you.

2. You can “split” the content of your DVD9 into two DVD5s. Clone can do this for you. This option is probably cheaper that the previous one, but is not as convenient (you’ll have to swap disks in the middle of the movie)