New PC can't burn DVDs

vbimport

I’m new to burning DVDs, just got a new Sony Vaio with a DVD±RW (Sony’s DW-D22A drive)

Currently running Windows Media Center OS as well.
My husband’s friend suggested that we rip one of our dvds using DVD Shrink (which we did) then use Nero 6.0+ to burn it onto a blank dvd. Ok, so we’ve ripped one of our DVDs, now using a Hypermedia 4.7GB DVD+R 4x blank dvd, our burner will not detect the blank dvd to be a blank dvd, it keeps thinking they are blank CDs instead. Nero gave me a warning stating that it may not work with our OS and may have compatibility issues, it detected the drive fine and I attempted to burn the dvd anyway, but the DVD will not work and is unrecognizable to any dvd player including the PCs.

Any suggestions? I tried finding drivers for the burner hoping that was the issue, the only other thing I can assume is its because we’re using Windows Media Center OS instead of XP like most burning softwares are designed for.

Thanks for any help in advance.

If you are using Nero Burning Rom and not Nero Start Smart, make sure you select DVD from the dropdown menu on the New Compilation window.

yea, i selected dvd from the drop down, then i selected dvd video (like my friend said to do) moved the files from the rip over to the correct folder and burned. the dvd was unrecognizable in anything. also prior to opening nero 6.3, it said because we were running windows media center OS that it may have compatibility issues, but i’m still baffled as to how the burner will not recognize blank DVDs but thinks they are blank CDs…

is the burner just a bum burner??

You should first update your nero to 6.6… That should get rid of the compatibility issues. Also Khypermedia is pretty crappy. Try using better media or else you will get skipping and pixelation. Try verbatim, tdk, or Fujifilm Made in japan discs.

And check for a firmware update on your drive.