New PC built... but no POST, help!

I’m whipping together a new PC and I’ve come across a problem with my mobo: no POST. I’ve stripped the system down to CPU, heatsink and RAM (tried without RAM also), started it up on cardboard and antistatic bag, and I’ve got no beeps to even indicate that the mobo’s alive HOWEVER when I switch on, the fan for the CPU (and the case fan if I connect it) spins, indicating that power’s going through. I’ve also tried the videocard on there to see if a signal’s going to the PC just to be anal.

I’m wondering if I’ve missed something here, much like if you have the jumper for CMOS on pins 2&3 as opposed to 1&2… I’m not aware of anything else that can be botched like this but then I’m an amateur.

If it’s relevant, the case that I’m startring it up with won’t switch off when I push the button, it only switches on - but I don’t know if that’s somethng that can just happen with some cases anyway; my current PC doesn’t switch off ‘just like that’ if I push the button, it goes through the shut down process first.

If this is a motherboard problem, can anyone recommend seeing if a PC shop to do a diagnostic on it? Are these things often fixable or should I look at getting a new mobo?

Other than that, suggestions for how I might have missed something would be great.

Specs are:
MSI 865PE Neo 2 Platinum motherboard (specs here)
Value Select DDR 400 512 MB RAM
Intel Celeron D processor, 2.4 GHz, socket 478
Radeon 9250 128mb 8x AGP video card

Thanks for looking, thanks even more if you can help! :bow:

sounds like you did things right and the board may be bad but to be sure check how the cpu and RAM was inserted

Had a problem something like yours except had auto shutdown after a few seconds - cpu not firmly inserted

Yeah, I’ve actually taken the CPU out and put it back in to double check… what do you reckon about a diagnostic… are things usually easy to fix?

to bench test (a minimal setup)

1. clear cmos & and check all jumpers