New PC Build for DVD collection; Need some help

Hi guys,

First of all, then you for taking to time to read this. I’m new to cdfreaks, to this forum and have finally decided to do something about my mid-sized DVD collection (1200-ish).

Having investigated various options in terms of storage and access for my collection, I have plumped for the media-server option, with a bucketload of disk space.

I read an article recently which gave me a spec. for building a new burning, ripping and gaming PC (the latter I’m not so interested in);

GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ICH9R (8-SATA ports)
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 Wolfdale (45nm) 2.53GHz 3MB L2 cache
2 GB DDR2-800 DIMM
SeaSonic S12 II SS-330GB ATX12V 330W “80 Plus” Power Supply
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution RC-830-KKN3-GP Black
ICY DOCK MB455SPF-B 5 in 3 Multi Bay hot-swap backplane
PALiT NE/960TSX0252 GeForce 9600GT SONIC 512MB
(Quantity 6) Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1TB
(Quantity 6) LG Black 20X DVD burner (SATA)
Sabrent SBT-SRD4 PCI 4-port SATA I
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1250 MC - White Box 1187 PCI-Express

My problem is that even though the article is only 6 months old, it appears much of the technology has moved on - the motherboard appears difficult to get hold of - certainly here in Canada, and having limited PC architectural knowledge - I’m reluctant to start guessing whether I can interchange pieces. (I’m a software guy… don’t shoot me.)…

Ultimately, what I am wanting to achieve is to rip my entire library to disk - probably in ISO or VOB format (rather than compressing to mp4 - again, a personal quirk - and not knowing whether the compression will give me HD quality audio/video…)…

From there I plan on loading up a media center of sorts through my home entertainment system - I believe there are a number of options there - using a PS3 for example, wireless, TVersity etc - I’ll scour the forums for advice on that…