New p2p applications

I’ve been using Kazaa Lite and WinMX now for a good 2-3 years as my main p2p clients (never used Bittorrent).

Anyway, having recently heard about the shutting down of WinMX, are there any other up and coming p2p programs out there worth downloading?

Obviously, they’d have to be spyware/malware/adware-free.

I’ve heard about a new program named “Frostwire” and I’ve also heard about Ares.

Would you recommend the above two p2p programs or are there any other p2p programs you’d recommend?

I used to use WinMX a looooong time ago, but now I prefer SoulSeek :slight_smile:

You could try eMule it connects to the ed2k network and is adware and spyware free. The official site ends in .net and the programme is free avaid any that expect you to pay.

FTP’s > BT > p2p… If you want to be a true warez0r, get into bt. Its much better imo to downlaod whole albums rather than just single songs.

@Arachne: is Soulseek spyware and adware-free?

@JayC30: I’m sure I heard that eMule had some hidden spyware that comes with it.

@JonnyBaker: I’ll pass on BitTorrent thank you very much. I saw an article the other day about a guy who downloaded movies through BitTorrent and the film companies sued the pants off of him.

have i got this right? a kazaa/winmx user telling us he’s scared of using bit torrent because of legal implications :confused: :o :doh:

My thoughts exactly. p2p progs are the easiest way to get caught. Also, the article you read probably entailed someone you downloaded movies off a PUBLIC bt site, not a PRIVATE one. It really pisses me off when people don’t understand that not all warez is public, and that most of the good stuff comes from private topsites, newsgroups and BT trackers that are basically totally anonymous and are extremely secure.