New NEC 2510A Slow Read and Write, 4X all around?

I bought a NEC 2510A last week and recieved my RiTekG05 8x Media from newegg about 2 days ago. I am fairly new with DVD burning, but have had some friends give me pointers and have read many of the posts here.

I noticed while burning a few backups I was getting a max speed in both Nero 6.3.1.15, and DVDDecryptor, of only 4X. I just ran Nero CD-DVD Speed to see what that gave me and it was at 4.14X for the entire time.

I have not changed the firmware and am at 2.15 from what DVDInfo tells me. I have thought about downgrading to the 1.07 v2 beta5, but not sure if I should. Do you guys think it could be my media or my drive?

I have also verified that I am running it as DMA.

Also, when I rip a DVD to my HD it only reads at 4X, which is annoying since the DVD Reader on this is rated much higher. I then ran a DVDInfo Speed test on a dvd backup I had previously burned. Its results were the same, it read at 4X to start, eventually climbing to 7.8X. However when I rip a DVD with DVD Decryptor the fastest it rips it at is 4X, and its annoying to wait 30+minutes to rip a dvd. Either way that is much slower then it is suppose to be. Here is the DVDInfo from the DVD I ran the test on along with the graph info.

Media Information                            
Region information                                    N/A not a DVD-VIDEO
Media code/Manufacturer ID                                       RITEKG05
Format Type                                                      UDF 1.02
Volume Name                                                     BAD_SANTA
Application id                                                           
Implementation id                                              DVD Shrink
Recording Date/Time (mm/dd/yyyy)                       7/12/2004 21:58:07
Format Capacity                                            4.36GB(4.68GB)
Book Type                                                           DVD-R