New LiteOn 1633S doesn't like my media?

vbimport

Hi, I am new to dvd burning, so after reading this forum, I have picked up some lingo and will attempt to use these new words to describe my problem. I have burned cds a lot, so I do know something about optical drives… maybe.

I bought the LiteOn SOHW-1633S. The default fw is BS0R, so I decided to stick with that and try to burn a simple data disc. I bought some Ritek R03 discs (Ridata 8x DVD+R). Even though Nero said the disc had some stuff on it already (which it didn’t), I tried burning some files and while it looked like it worked all right, Nero’s disc verification failed. The disc is not readable and unrecognized by Windows.

I dumped the existing fw, backed up my EEPROM, and grabbed the BS41 fw. I ran the .exe file and all went well. I had saved my compilation of files so I fired that up in Nero again and burned the same thing. This time, the process wrote the lead in track, TOC, then lead out track within 30 seconds and spit the disc out, giving me an error upon disc verification, which only took one second since all the files were obviously non-existent. Windows reads the disc fine since the TOC is intact. None of the files open of course, since they don’t have anythign in them, they are merely in the TOC.

I used Omnipatcher and enabled crossflashing on the CSTJ fw. I used Firmware.exe to flash my drive, which seems t have gone well. I ran Nero CD/DVD Speed to see if the drive was okay, and it read pressed DVDs and audio CDs nicely. I stuck in another blank DVD+R and burned the same session again. The same thing happened as last time, almost. It spent some time diong an extra step which I don’t remember specifically, then ti proceeded to actually start writing. A few seconds into it proceeded directly to the disc verification, which obviously failed. Windows says the disc just has the TOC on it.