New installed 832S: big problem (no flashing, no writing)!

I have just installed a new 832S on my PC, but I have two big problems:

• cannot burn DVD
  • cannot flash new firmware

More infos:

• The firmware is the original VS03, the burn sofware is nero express
  • The 832S driver is installed on the second IDE channel as master (a DVD reader is installed as slave)
  • Win2000 can see the 832S and on this unit I can read CD-ROM, DV-ROM and all burned media without any problem)
  • I can burn CD-RW with the 832S using nero, but no DVD-RW
  • I use Verbatin DataLifePlus supports

Any suggestions?

Thank you for your help
Gio

Hello, and welcome!

I am very sorry to hear of your problems… and you have certainly come to the right place. If anyone can help you, you will find them here.

I most likely will not be able to help you myself (I am fairly new), but I am a hardware tech, and can ask you some questions that will help us all:

1. What are your system specs?

2. What software (burner specific) do you have installed (include versions)?

3. Have you checked to make sure DMA is enabled for the drive?

4. Why do you think that the burns have not been working? (as in what kind of errors??)

Hope we can help you!

-Skystalker

Hi Skystalker, thank you for your reply.

OK, I’ll give more infos:

1. Dual boot system NT4-SP6a/Win2000SP4
    AMD Athlon 1200 MHz, Mobo: VT8366-8233, 256MB RAM

2. Nero Burning ROM 6.3.1.11 (included in Retail version)

3. Under NT4 no DMA (under Win2000 I’ll check later)

4. When I try to create a data disk with nero, all works fine, the whole disc is written i.e. the progress bar arrives till 100%, but then all stucks, nero does not responds to any command, the PC is instable and I have to reboot the computer.
    The same when I tried to delete the DVD-RW: all was ok till nero reached 100%…then again I had to reboot the PC.