New DVD Tool: Shrink to 5

vbimport

Haven’t had time to try it yet. :wink:

http://www.videohelp.com/tools?tool=ShrinkTo5

Looks… sketchy. We’ll see how people react to it. :wink:

Looks to me like another version of dvdshrink but a bit more complicated or is that i am new with this software :bigsmile:

here is homepage http://www.shrinkto5.com/
first feedback i have read yet http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=99425

Heh, without DeCSS I don’t see it being very useful. And I’m darned if I can find the “machinist.dll” anywhere on the web. The story is they’re looking for host sites where it’s legal. :stuck_out_tongue:

You could use AnyDVD?

I wish “them” (whoever “they” are, looks like a guy in Germany) good luck. According to german law the development (I assume “manufacture” and “development” is the same for software?) of such a DLL (with the intention of distribution) would already be illegal, so regardless where the file is hosted, the creator might be responsible. Probably not a criminal offense, but paying damages to the music & movie industry could be even worse.

Quoting http://www.euro-copyrights.org

Circumvention Devices and Services

§ 95a (3) German CA, which is also copied nearly word by word from the Copyright Directive, bans certain preparatory acts relating to circumvention. It is prohibited

* to manufacture, import, distribute, sell, rent, advertise for sale or rental and possess for commercial purposes devices, products or components,
* and to provide services
* that are 

o advertised for the purpose of circumvention, or
      o have only a limited commercially significant purpose or use other than to circumvent, or
      o are primarily designed for circumvention.

Looks interesting, but like was mentioned a bit more complicated than Shrink3.2 , which is still my first love.