New DVD Burner - I'm burning Coasters!

Noob here. Well, just got my first DVD burner yesterday - a Pioneer DVR-107D (dual format 8x capability). I got it with a USB 2.0 external enclosure. So, got it hooked up and started up Nero v6.3 & tried dragging the video_ts files. Started burning, everything working well, then about mid way through, the burning process failed. I was trying to burn at 4x on 4x Fuji DVD+R media (made in Taiwan).

So, I decided to upgrade the firmware to the current version off Pioneer’s site, version 1.10. So, did that, restarted the computer. Started the burn process again with the video_ts files. This time, it burned perfectly, at 4x speed. I was happy and thought the problems were fixed.

Next, I tried buring a movie I had downloaded. So, did everything I had done before. Started burning, and it tried to write the lead-in and then said “lead-in failed.” Then proceeded to just sit there with 1% written for 15 minutes. I finally had to turn off the DVD burner and turn it back on again to get the disc out. So, restarted computer and tried again, same thing happened again, lead-in failed to write. Then, I decided to try again at 2.4x speed instead of 4x. This time, it worked.

So, then I tried to write another set of video_ts files and it failed to write the lead-in again. I tried again and the same thing. So, now I have about 6 coasters of these Fuji discs.

My questions - Is it the media? Is this store bought Fuji crap? Or is it the machine, or is it the burning software? My computer is a 3 month old HP AMD Athlon 2800+ with about 80 gigs of hard drive free. Does anyone have similar experiences and a fix? Any help is appreciated.

I’m a newb as well, but what experience I do have, I will share.