New Copy Protection?

vbimport

Okay so I was trying to backup Resident Evil: Apocalypse and it keeps freezing in the same spot. The disc plays fine and doesn’t have any scratches (brand new). I suppose it could be factory defective. I have tried DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink and AnyDVD and none of them will read through it (each one is the latest version). I remember hearing about some new copy protection that was supposed to be showing up on discs pretty soon. Does anyone remember the name of it? DVD Decrypter says: “Possible structure protection found”. Is this something new or not? Just curious. EDIT BTW the disc is region 1, NTSC.

I am not an expert but i think is the new Sony Argoos protection. You can rip the DVD on the HDD using Super DVD Copy V.2 and then use DVDshrink to compress it. This worked just fine for me with the same Resident Evil 2:Apocalypse Region 1 US

i tried with Super DVD Copy 2.o but failed. How did you do it? Special settings?
It seems to me that this new protection is having the upper hand.

Is this on the same movie iemortal? Was it the same region and format? Anyways the Argoos protection would make sense as it is a Columbia release (which I believe is owned by Sony).

hey, Jesterrace, it is a reginon 1-bought-in-America disc, which i believe was released by Columbia Pictures. I have tried every possible mean, but no luck. I guess I have to wait for the newer version of DVDshrink or DVDdecryster to come out. So, what do you think?

I have the same problem with RE2 and found on other forums that they were able to back it up using VOBBlanker. I have not tried it myself but will after work tonight.

Good luck.

i used superdvd copy to rip it than i used dvdshrink to encode it and it worked fine
Dvdshrink kept freezing when trying to rip it.

Yup, heard about the Vobblanker method as well. I really hope there is an update for Decrypter or Shrink before too long though so I won’t have to keep juggling all of these programs.

Dear all,