New burner advice and also the fabled 'Gamecube disc reading drive' info?

OK, I am getting some stuff from eBuyer and I will end up getting free p&p so my choice is from this list, and it has to be black.

I don’t need anything fancy, just reliable so £15-20 one will be fine. My brother swears by Pioneer for reliability - I’ve had some experience with LiteOns and IMO they aren’t very reliable, but I wanted to see what you lot think.

One thing that occurred to me is that I am aware that a select few drives - all LG IIRC - will actually read and rip Gamecube games. I have been interested in backing up my GC collection for a long time now, so if anyone has any advice to offer on this, I am ALL EARS - if eBuyer has a drve that can do it, I’ll be over the moon but I will look elsewhere for it, too. I believe that a reader is all I need for that, and I am getting a reader to so if anyone is aware of any reader or burner that can do this Gamecube malarkey I would really appreciate it.

OK look seriously, forget the Gamecube thing, I can try and muddle through that myself.

Anyone got any recommendations (in black) from the above link?

Yeah. The Pioneer 115D @ £16.91 inc. VAT :slight_smile:

I’m well happy with mine.

Failing that, the Optiarc 7200A has had some good comments here.

Never heard of Optiarc.

Well, unless anyone else has anything to add, Pioneer it is. Cheers. :wink:

Actually I am looking at the LG drives just to match my reader drive… however I’m lead to believe that they’re a bit crap. Opinions?

@ groovemeister,

Never ‘Heard’ of Sony or NEC ?

Sony NEC Optiarc ->

Sony NEC Optiarc Inc is a 55/45 (Sony 55%, NEC 45%) joint venture of Sony and NEC Corporation, and was established in April 2006. The company’s business is the design and manufacturing of optical disk drives, primarily for the OEM desktop and notebook PC markets ->

http://www.sonynec-optiarc.com/

The CD Freaks Forum has a dedicated NEC/Optiarc DVD Burner Forum ->