New build questions

vbimport

Now that I have the hardware installed (cpu, memory, floppy, dvd/rw, and hdd) and have hopefully correctly connected the necessary wiring, what should I see on the monitor if all goes well when I turn it on for the FIRST time?

This is my very first build so I wanted to start a post for help if (and being a pessimest I know I’ll need it) and when I need it.

Do I have to do anything to get the BIOS to come up…assuming the mobo is happy.?

What do I need to do in the BIOS?

I’ll be installing Windows XP Home OEM from NewEgg.

Wish me luck…I’m gonna need it…and standby for more questions…Please!

if everything is hooked up right you will see it loading the Bios,Checking Memory,checking to see what hardware it can detect, ( hard drive,cd-rom,dvd-rom,etc ) Then it will look for an OS to load,if there isn’t one most newer mobo will go straight to asking you if you want it to load from CD,if it does not ask you will have to go into the bios and tell it to start from CD first instead of HDD

Before you start you should have an idea of how you are going to format your drive, are you going to partition it or not ( depends on how big it is and what you are planning to do with this computer )

There usually always someone around to answer questions Good Luck

bean55

Thanks for responding bean55…yes, I have a 300GB Maxtor SATA 1.5Mbps HDD and I guess it should be partitioned. Do I do the partitioning in the BIOS or after I install the OS?

I could use your advise on partitioning the HDD.

[B]Hope to hear from you real soon, I’m ready to turn it on right now.[/B]

[QUOTE=burnselk;2005399]Thanks for responding bean55…yes, I have a 300GB Maxtor 1.5Mbps HDD and I guess it should be partitioned. Do I do the partitioning in the BIOS or after I install the OS?

I could use your advise on partitioning the HDD.

[B]Hope to hear from you real soon, I’m ready to turn it on right now.[/B][/QUOTE]Did you get a CD with your hard drive?