New Build Problems with Lite-On SH-16A7S-06

vbimport

I have built 3 computers in the past year, but I have never used a SATA CD/DVD ROM drive before to install the OS. I am installing the following components in a New Build Computer.

Aspire X-Plorer Steel Case - Black/Blue
ULTRA 550W X2-Connect Power Supply - Titanium w/ Blue UV
ABIT AN8 32X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 4000
BFG GeForce 7600 GT OC “only one, but plan to buy a second card”
Western Digital / Caviar SE / 250GB / 7200 / 8MB / SATA-300 / OEM / Hard Drive
MASSCOOL 80MM K8 FAN 5F531B1M3CG
LITE-ON 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-16A7S-06
CARD RD LINKSKEY LKA-CR15BW R
OCZ Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel
Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition SP2b 1pk w/Upgrade Coupon for Vista

Once I turn on the computer, I put the formatting CD that came with my SATA 250GB Western Digital HDD in the CD/DVD to format the drive before installing the OS. The “boot from CD” is displayed and when it tries to load up the disk it tells me that there is an error. The screen is displaying a message that no drivers could be found for the CD ROM or that the cables are not connected properly. And it outputs an A:\ prompt, from here I have to shut down and go to my BIOS. Once in the BIOS, I check to see if the DVD/CD burner is detected and it is. Everything looks like it should I think, is there something in the BIOS I need to change to detect the CD/DVD Rom? Should I buy an extra cd rom without the SATA connectors just to load the OS? The instructions that come with Windows should already have the drivers needed to run the drive. Problem is that I don’t have OS installed yet.

I’m not sure what’s the problem but I seldom had a good experience with a non-Intel ATA controller. Did you searched through the forum if other people experienced problems with that drive and nVidia SATA controllers?