New 3520A ,,small problem

vbimport

hello, i just got my new OEM 3520A from newegg, its connected as Sec Master…once i insert a new verbatim DVD+R in it, & try to burn some movies on it… my computer stops responding when i hit G: < which’s the drive’s letter or try to test the drive using NERO TEST DRIVE thingy… NERO stops responding & i have to restart the copmuter to fix this… windows xp pro installed the driver for me… i just changed the region for the dvd…
when i insert a new dvd . it doesnt read it & show this “please insert a disk into drive F” when i hit G drive…although i just inserted a dvd in it.
any ideas ? bare with me, i’m new to DVD 's… :confused:

Zolo. It would really help us help you if you tell us your computer specs. :slight_smile:

sure,
a64 3000+ S939, 768MB RAM, radeon 9800PRO 128MB,windows xp pro with SP2, MSI K8T Neo2-F…500W PSU… 2 hard drives IDE seagate 200GB 7200, Maxtor 160GB 7200

thnx

look what u write drive f and g those arent the same drive

my bad, damn havent slept in 20 hours :slight_smile: its F, right…

edit:

i get this message sometimes, when i try to access F

OK first question, Is the nec in UDMA mode not PIO mode, and have you updated your chipset drivers? I assume thats a NVidea chipset, Also is the drive jumper set to Master. Sometimes it’s easy to miss! :slight_smile:

ok, i performed a quick google on UDMA & PIO, couldnt find the right way to do it tho, how can i change those modes in registry ? i just updated the motherboard with all the new updates ( its a MSI K8T Neo2-F mobo by the way ), yes the jumper is set to Master…

edit:

found out how to change modes, let me c now

You can check UDMA Mode in Nero info tool under Configuration tab (DMA on) or device manager/hardware/IDE/ATA/ATAPI Controllers under secondary master.

ok, thnx.
this’s what i have

but i dont see DMA on there tho

in device manager how can i change the mode ? i dont see it in properites where i can change modes!