NEW 3500A User, needs tips

vbimport

Hey,

Alright well I got a new NEC3500A and it was OEM, so I installed and let windows specify the drivers and everything for it. Is there a recommended set of drivers or is this fine?

Also, i’m looking to get some basic good dvd media for my burner. I’m not really into flashing or anything like that since i’m new to this “Scene” and i’d like to just have a good media that provides good burning capabilities. I prefer to order from NewEgg if anyone has any suggestions that would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I use Nero 6.3.1.2. (CORRECTED) as a burning software, is there another one that’s preferred over this or is Nero good enough?

There is no driver needed for your new toy. Update your Nero to 6.3.1.20 would be a good idea. Burning software is a personal choice that you have to make.

As far as media are concerned, there are many threads that speaks on that, but in general, I think FUJI 8X stuff should be a pretty safe bet for quality media either the RICOJPNR02 or YUDENT02. Available from Newegg of course…

thanks for the reply, yah i noticed a ton of threads on the best media, which made it hard for me to understand how to choose and what not…also im not looking to flash or anything fancy a long those lines ya know?

You wouldn’t happen to know the link for the FUJI products on Newegg would you? Sorry, im just a little worried from a bad burn experience (in another thread in this forum) and i’m looking to get better media.

If you want to burn Dual Layer DVDs then use DVD Decrypter. Other programs have had problems with burning DL DVDs especially at the layer break. I always use DVD Decrypter and never had any playback problems so far.

Thanks, and Dual Layer would pertain I assume to stuff like Widescreen and Full Screen?