"New" 16x dvd-r media (mcc 03rg20) and my "old" Teac dv-w516g (b4s6)

vbimport

Hi. First of all i’m new at this, and only investigated this matter because my Teac dv-w516g (firmware b4s6) won’t recognize the “new” 16x dvd-r media (mcc 03rg20, found on verbatim discs, for example) and won’t burn them - the drive stops at the lead-in phase, and doesn’t even start the burn process.

Since this media is not listed on teac’s medialist for my model, teac basicly told me to “duck off”…
So, i investigated a bit, and was wondering if the famous omnipatcher (or even some other tool) can be used to add this media type to my firmware so that i can burn the dvds (however, i only saw omnipatcher being used to change speeds, not add new media types, so i wonder…).

Why do i want to do this? Because i like Verbatim media (ritek tends to sell out prety fast), and most stores seem to only have this new media now, and not the old ones my drive can burn! So i was wondering if there is any way for me to continue burning dvd-rs.

Thanks.

Teac dv-w516g (LiteOn 1633s?? i’m not sure :S) that drive cant write DVD-R x 16 so maybe FW dont include that kind of DVD … try maybe FW from

Sony.710A.BYX4
Memorex.F16.BWSE
LiteOn 1633S.BS41

or New FW for 1653s
1653S.CS0P.patched-cf-ledfix.txt

made backup before :S

1653S.CS0P supports it @12x, the 1633 firmwares support just 8x.

@Tug
u want burn DVD-R x 16 ? or burn them at 12 x ??? i dont understand =/ (i seeping 3h/day)

@ala42
I know that 1653s (DVD-R x12) ;] i only got problems whit understanding txt … F… Insomnia =/

Use ala42s MCSE and DVD Identifier.Go here for it http://dvd.identifier.cdfreaks.com/

Copy&Patse Media code from DVD Identifier, load firmware into MCSE, then import media code into MCSE. Save firmware. There you go.