Never burned DVDs before; what media to use?

vbimport

Hi everyone! (First post.)

I recently purchased a LiteOn 411S. It’s my first DVD burner. I’ve never burned a DVD in my life, but I’m very familiar with CD authoring.

I’m trying to figure out what media I should get. Money is tight currently, so I don’t want to purchase something and it turn out to not work very well.

So my question is, to all of the other 411S owners, which media do you suggest I try out for the first time? And perhaps some good places to get the media?

Wal-Mart has a 10 pack of Maxell DVD-Rs for $10, and that sounds good to me, although I’ve heard LiteOn sucks at burning -Rs. Is this true? Do the recent firmwares not fix this? The +Rs were twice as much, so I only wanna spend that extra money if I really need to.

I apologize if this should be in the Media forum instead–I’m a newbie here. :slight_smile:

Oh BTW, I’ll be burning data discs mainly, in case that’s important to know…

411 @fs0f firmware is fine for quality + and - media

maxell -r looks fine in the media forum

go for it and let us know the results. just realize that you may end up with a few coasters.

It may be a week or so, but I will do. :slight_smile: Thanks

Once you feel like getting “bulk” discs, try one of the on-line media outlets like Shop4Tech or Meritline. I like getting bulk packs in case I get a coaster, I don’t feel so bad about wasting a disc.

I got good kprobe results with Prodisc (ProdiscS03) and Ritek G04 DVD-Rs. Checking Shop4tech, you can pick up the Prodisc for under $56/100 and the RitekG04 for $63/100 (with coupon code). No tax + Free shipping.

But, if you like quality, STAY AWAY FROM CHEAP CRAP! Anything less than $45/100 is prob crap (not to sound elitist, but the Sonic and Matrix are both less than that --with sonic about $30/100 with code–and the quality fluctuates greatly within one batch). PIs averaging around 500-700. With Prodisc, its around 20-30.