Networked DVD players

vbimport

I find these networking DVD/video players intriguing. Anybody around here using one? Any suggestions on one to look at? What will they do and what will they NOT do?
I’d love to be able to connect my home network and my entertainment system in this way, and play movies off a HD.

I have no personal knowledge of them myself. But if I was looking for more information I would head over to the AVS Forums. In the past they have been an invaluable source of home theatre knowledge for me. In particular their HTPC (Home theatre PC) forum is very interesting. I’m sure a few searches will yield some useful information. Anyway, I hope that helps somewhat. :bigsmile:

Looking at the LiteOn 2010, but it doesn’t seem to be available anywhere. Not bad at $200.

I read a review on the KiSs DP500/508 some time ago (in a Dutch magazine) and they were very satisfied with the product. They found it to be one of the best networked players they ever tested.

The magazine was C’t, a highly notified Dutch/German tech mag.

Originally posted by Dee-ehn
[B]I read a review on the KiSs DP500/508 some time ago (in a Dutch magazine) and they were very satisfied with the product. They found it to be one of the best networked players they ever tested.

The magazine was C’t, a highly notified Dutch/German tech mag. [/B]

Interesting, I read the rather skimpy manual on the 500/508. The 508 has a HD for storage, which is interesting, but it doesn’t say if you can access that HD from your PC. It appears to be just for storing files from discs or from your PC. A hefty price tag for the 508, considering it only ads the HD.
There appears to be only one distributor for the KISS hardware in the USA.

Got this from LiteOn USA:

Hi,

Sorry 2010 is not released in US market yet.
Our target release time will be end of March time frame. You can check www.pcclub.com or
www.dandh.com or find in retail store like Bestbuy, compusa.

Thanks for your interest.

Marketing Department