NeroVision Express Compression

vbimport

I just started using NVE2 V 2.1.0.4. I had a series of Hi-8 movies, which, when captured into a Project file totaled about 4.6 gigs - which, the program told me was too large for the DVD. I asked to program to try a compression, but afterwards was told the file was still too big.

I am relatively new to this video processing stuff, but I have been using DVD-X-Copy Platinum for a few weeks and successfully compressing 7+ gigs onto a DVD with no apparent loss of quality.

So, I wonder if the compression algorythms in Nero are really so poor compared to DVD-X-Copy, or am I doing something wrong in NVE?

Is there a way to compress 5 gigs or so in NVE to a DVD? I see the incredible capability of NERO Recode to compress files, also, I read about sw like DVD Shrink, but am not sure if they can help within the context of a NVE Project file.

The volume of info on video processing on the net is overwhelming and much of it seems oriented to working with ripped VOB files and such, I would just like to be able to work within the context of less technical approaches that are provided by DVD-X-Copy and NVE.

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
CW

Create a folder anywhere for the video file then open NVE and add your large video file and ignore the message and continue to the last menu ‘burn options’ here select write to hard disk folder. Nero will then convert your .AVI,mpeg or mpeg2 movie to .VOB,IFO and BUP files which are DVD video files. After the process is complete close the NVE and open Nero Recode and select ‘remake a dvd’ then select the ‘import dvd’ button and select the folder which contains your .vob,ifo and bup files and burn.

Thanks for your help!

I tried what you suggested. The burn to file work fine. Nero Showtime play the file perfectly .

But, when I when I try remake a DVD from Recode and selcct the file containing the ,vob,ifo and bup files (Video_TS) I get an error:
… unable to continue