Nero probs

vbimport

Hiya people,

Be gentle with me, this is my first post. I’ve just installed another Nero Burning ROM (my original Nero software, which copied disc-to-disc without any apparent problem, suddenly revealed itself as a demo version - and promptly expired)

So, a friend handed me a copy disc to reinstall the facility. This new version is fine, until you get your two discs ready for the burn: the master copy on the source drive/tray and the blank disc in destination (told you i was a newbie!).

It then insists (and this is the problem) that “the medium is not writable”:

Medium required: CD-R/RW
Medium in recorder: CD-RW

So you try various alternative blank discs and it always comes back with basically the same message, rejecting them as

Medium in recorder: CD-ROM

and even
Medium in recorder: CD-R

:confused:

This must be wrong, surely, everybody who sends me copies of things does them on plain old CD-R, I don’t think anyone’s ever sent me a CD-R/RW…

Is there some way of overwriting this stipulation??

many thanks

I would try to uninstall nero and run a tril of a reg cleaner,you can reinstall but I Think you will have to buy a copy.
You can get oems at some sights,try googling it.
Bruce

what nero version have you got?
Have you tried it on more than one make or cd alone?
What make of cd are you trying it with?

Hi josh - it’s Nero 5, but I think I’ve been persuaded to go for a legit Nero 7 (as my 5 is a 2nd hand copy anyway so I can’t really complain to Nero about it not working)

The discs it rejected as “not writeable” were a Boots CD-R (700MB 1-52x), a Packard Bell CD-RW (12x speed, 700MB), a Verbatim Datalife CD-R (48x compatible), and a Fujifilm CD-R (up to 52x, also 700 MB)

Someone advised me today that Nero 7 would set me back about £30 - is this right? I can live with that…

Personally I’d try for a Nero 6.6 version from ebay & update to 6.6.0.18 or the latest 6.6.1.4.