Nero/Nec 1300A weirdness HELP!

vbimport

First up: hiya all.

Couldn’t decide wether to post this in hardware or Nero, and given I am a newbie this seemed like a good idea.

I bought an OEM Nec 1300A and was happily using the most current (as of two weeks ago) Nero release to burn both DVDs (various formats/brands) and CDs. Zero problems.

One day, I burn a data DVD. Goes fine. I immediately attempt to make another exactly the same DVD on exactly the same media with exactly the same settings for off-site storage. Coaster. Then two more coasters, crapping out a few seconds in each time with a “failure of disk-direct” message.

Hm. Tried doing a simulated burn. Same thing. From that point on Nero not only refused to burn any DVD but CDs too. Even the stuff like testing for disc speed fails (62900 error, “Power on, reset, or bus device reset occurred”). Needing to burn discs (was preparing for an XP reinstall) RIGHT NOW I uninstalled Nero, put in an old version of Roxio and the drive worked fine for CDs (software didn’t have DVD support).

After the OS change (brand new XP pro install on formatted drive), I reinstalled Nero 6.x. It burned a CD and I chalked it up to gremlins. The next day: a CD coaster, exactly the same problem all over again. Uninstalled 6.x and put in the last 5.5 release. Exactly the same problem, down to the error messages.

ARGH!!

I really want to use Nero–but mostly I am worried there is some larger problem here. Can’t return the drive as the problem didn’t crop up immediately nor can I afford to replace it. Heck, couldn’t afford the DVD coasters…

XP Pro, Athlon 1800, 512 meg, two Maxtor IDEs on primary DMA, secondary has Nec 1300A w/current firmware master DMA & DVD DMA slave…only thing I can think of is turning off dma on the optical drives’ channel but that sure would suck and it would also not explain why the problem isn’t there at the start.

helphelphelphelphelphelphelp:bigsmile: