Nero 8 install problem

Hello everyone. I am new to this so bare with me.

I had Nero 8 installed on my computer in September when first purchased. It installed fine. I had a hard drive failure (head crash) and had to replace the hard drive. I re-loaded windows XP and did all the updates etc. When trying to install Nero 8 now is does not do it. I decline the ask search bar and weather channel. It then opens a bar says extracting files and then goes away and i am back at my desktop. I have tried re-downloading the software and still the same things. I have used their cleaning tool and still nothing.

I spent over 3 hours with an MS tech who tried to trouble shoot to see if it was XP not letting it install. He was the best. We downloaded other Nero products and they install fine. I have not had any problems with any other software. The techs conclusion is that it is Nero’s installer from the program on 8.

One more thing. Nero’s customer service sucks terribly. I finally did talk to their tech support and paid a few bucks ($1.29) and he is taking charge of the problem. He is supposed to call me back. Let hope he does.

Can anyone help with this if they experienced the same type of problem.

Thanks in advance.

DT

Welcome to the forum

You might download the Nero 8 Clean tool from the Nero site and run it to clean all the nero stuff off your HD.

Then you might download and run the Windows Installer Cleanup utility to remove any information left from the failed installs

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/MSICLEAN.htm

and then

Start a fresh install of Nero 8.

The cleaning has been done and Nero has been re-installed over and over again. The MS tech did all he can do. So now I am hoping Nero tech support will get back with me.

Thanks

Dt

If I understand you correctly you cant get nero to do a full install. I would try deleting all the temps files in
C:\Documents and Settings"Your User Name"\Local Settings\Temp.