Need Your Recommendations on Drive/Enclosure

vbimport

Hey guys, I’m a newbie but I go on and read reviews and tips on this site all the time but I have recently come across an issue I cannot solve alone! I just recently purchased an external DVD±RW drive (Sony DRX-84OU) and that ended up being a disaster. It seems like you get a lot more bang for your buck popping an internal drive in an enclosure. So I have read up and I was wondering what you guys recommend, here are my top choices…

-Samsung SH-S203B w/ Galaxy Metal Gear 5205AUAS enclosure
-Pioneer DVR-215D w/ (above enclosure or another?perhaps this one http://www.cooldrives.com/5exfienalcdd.html)
-Or rock Pioneer 115D with any enclosure with an oxford chipset

Im leaning towards the 215d and the cooldrives enclosure
[B]
I couldnt find any threads talking about putting the DVR-215D into an enclosure so let me know your thoughts… Thanks!

HP DV9000z
Vista Home Premium 32
AMD TL-64 2.2GHz
Current Drive: Toshiba TS-L802A
[/B]

Welcome to CDF’s:

I have an older Galaxy Metal Gear 5202AUAS enclosure with a Sammy S203B in it and it works great using the eSATA side. I also have an eSATA PCMCIA card for my older lappy and get 20x burns with it also. I have a 203B internal and with my other one in the 5202AUAS using eSATA it performs just as good as internal.

I have a Pioneer 215 but i haven’t installed it in my 5202AUAS but i’m sure it will perform just as good.

Both Sammy 203B and Pioneer 215 are very good burners. Kind of a toss up really. The Sammy is a good CD-R burner also i hear but i use my Plextor Premiums for CD-R’s.

Just to mention and not confuse you but the Sammy 223F is available at Newegg if your in the USA. It’s a 22x burner and not many people have them yet.

Edit:
I haven’t used the USB side on the 5202AUAS so at this time i cannot tell you much.

Thanks Bob!

Does the DVR-215 fit in the Galaxy enclosure? I have been reading that some longer drives don’t and I wasn’t sure how big it was…