I have a high-end, homemade rig

Mobo: EVGA Classified 4 way SLI, just upgraded the BIOS
RAM: Dominator DDR3 24GB
CPU: Intel Core i7 980, 3.2 ghz Extreme Edition
Graphics: Radeon 5970 X2 in Crossfire Setup
Using on board Ethernet
Adaptec 6805 RAID Controller Card
Intel X25M 120GB X5 SSD Drives, not optimized, in RAID 0

My system has been solid for about 2 years, no real poblems, but recently found my C:\ drive only has 21.3 GB left the C:\ Drive is about 581 GB formatted.

I need help in finding the best way to image my C: Drive so that I can migrate it to a larger sSD setup maybe 2 or 3 512 GB SSD drives. I am not a know it all although I have been building systems since 1991. Any
help is greatly appreciated and thanks beforehand.

Also, if you can comment on the EVGA board, would you keep it or change it out. I see it has been deactivated on NewEgg site.

medmansc2CS

I liked to use Acronis Disk Director Suite 10 to copy partitions, but stopping using it after reading this. Whether the Adaptec RAID card can make the maximum use out of the latest 512GB SSD’s seems like the only real issue since copying partitions is relatively easy.

Medman, your title made me think you wanted to use a new motherboard with the old C: Drive.

But your description sounds like you’re keeping your motherboard, video card, etc, but only wanted to increase the capacity of C: Drive.

“Migrating” onto a new RAID’d C: Drive now will be difficult - you risk data corruption, loss and would probably end up re-installing Windows and everything.

I’ve been debating “Increasing Boot Drive SSDs” and have lately turned against this notion, opting instead of a Clone-Backup of a smaller 60-90Gb SSD as my Boot-&-Program-Files-Only drive because this might, theoretically, lessen the SSD’s chances for a fatal attack of electricity. (A bit of a joke - we’ve got a discussion thread about SSD Deaths and usually those are at power-ups, sort of like light-bulbs. Hit the switch and POP!)