Need tips on DVD+R

Hi

I am a rookie when it comes to burning on DVD’s. We own only 1 DVD burner and it’s hooked to my TV, it’s a memorex MVDR2102.
(After you are done laughing please keep reading LOL!)
Last time my local compusa was closing down, I bought 3 X 100 DVD+R 4.7GB 4x of the compusa brand. They were like $4 each.
We have been burning TV stuff on them that we don’t want to keep, we watch once and we throw the disc away.
I am halfway through the first spindle and I got 1 or maybe only 2 coasters, it’s not too bad for such cheap blank discs.

Now the questions?

1)What is the difference between 4x or 16x on the DVD+R’s?
Is that speed related? Why should I care if I burn a movie on a 4x instead of a 16x DVD+R?

1. I want to start burning movies directly from my movie channels to DVD+R’s but to keep this time, I want to buy the cases and print the covers and add to my collection(Save some dough).
    I am horrified since I just read here several times that cheap DVD+R’s will not hold the data past 1 year.Is this true?
    How come I have VHS tapes that were recorded 20 years ago and still play fine in my VCR ? But not cheaper DVD+R?

2. Please recommend some media to burn for the long run.

Thanks a lot

Patrick

Welcome to the forum :bigsmile:

[QUOTE=Killingjoke;1954748]1)What is the difference between 4x or 16x on the DVD+R’s?
Is that speed related? Why should I care if I burn a movie on a 4x instead of a 16x DVD+R?[/quote]
The main difference is in the dye used to build the data layer. In high speed certified media the disc can be written faster. Usually best results are obtained burning around the certified speed. For example, 4x media should be burned at 4x or 2x, 8x media should be burned at 8x or 4x, and 16x media should be burned at 16x or 12x.