Need some help with NECND2500A PLZ

vbimport

Hello All!!! :slight_smile:

Being a Newbie I have some questions that I would like answered if anybody has the time.

Question #1

How can you tell how fast your burn speed is? Can you monitor the burn speed Real-Time?

Question #2

Would the firmware upgrade be nescessary if my drive was mfg in 2004? Will the firmware upgrade change the burn speed? make it any faster? What does it do?

Question #3

How can I tweak my burner(s) 2500A and 1100 to burn the fastest possible? and with what media?

Irocdaparty

$97.00 USD NEC ND2500A in my new machine, works great with DVD X-COPY PLATINUM . Absolutely NO COASTERS from the 2500A , or the stock HP 300c (NEC 1100) drive. I use TDK DVD+R 4x, Ritek RIDATA DVD+R 4x, TDK DVD+R 4x and have had no coasters at all. Very happy with NEC drives.

Thank you in advance for your responses. CDFREAKS ROCKS!!!

P4 3Ghz with HTT,160gig HDD, 1 Gig PC3200 DDR SDRAM crucial memory ,Nec 2500A, Nec1100(HP 300c),Nvidia GeForce 5700 AGP

Originally posted by irocdaparty
[B]Hello All!!! :slight_smile:

Being a Newbie I have some questions that I would like answered if anybody has the time.

Question #1

How can you tell how fast your burn speed is? Can you monitor the burn speed Real-Time?

It depends on application you use. Some of them display it in real-time (for example XCDRoast on Linux) and other just tell you at the beginning that will record CD/DVD in certain speed and after butrning data you can calculate if it was really in such speed or maybe slower/faster.

Question #2

Would the firmware upgrade be nescessary if my drive was mfg in 2004? Will the firmware upgrade change the burn speed? make it any faster? What does it do?

Probably in your case FW upddate is not needed right noww because latest firmware is from 8-th January so you have it. But in the future when new firmwares will be available you can update firmware in your drive.