Need pointers on constructing a DVD project

vbimport

Hi,

I don’t know if this is the right forum for this, but here’s hoping. To start with, I’m completely new to video file manipulation and authoring.

I recently purchased a Plextor M-402U ConvertX A/V USB2.0 capture box and I’ve spent some time with it and the supplied applications. The ConvertX allows me to capture uncompressed CD quality stereo into a variable bit rate MPEG2 A/V file, and I want to make a DVD containing both captured material and material from a DVD-V.

I’ve used a decryption program to copy the full DVD to HD and I can identify which .VOB files I specifically want, but I don’t know how to convert them into MPEG2 files for input to Ulead VideoStudio 8 SE.

I’d also like to know how to make an audio track from one MPEG file accessable to another – obviously there would be synchronizing issues involved.

These questions probably just scratch the surface, but that’s a reflection of how green I am. I’m guessing there are specific programs that perform these kinds of tasks, hopefully with high reliability :), and also hopefully freeware :).

Can anyone please get me started (or at least point me in the right direction?)

TIA – Trevor

ByTheWay – While on AVSForum I ran into praise for a video conversion program Womble MPEG2VCR (http://www.womble.com/). It costs $50, but apparently accepts a variety of inputs and reliably generates DVD compliant MPEG-2 files. Comment?

Simple - Use a software called DVD Author
http://www.pegasys-inc.com/