Need help with finding video editing software please

Hello,

I have looked at all kinds and versions of editing software and have read the threads here on the different brands. I am a little overwhelmed at all of this as I’m TOTALLY new to this!

What I am looking for: I have a TRV280 sony camcorder and use digital8 tapes. I need something to transfer whats on the tape to PC, be able to cut out parts a I don’t want and be able to turn it into a DVD for myself and family. Would also like to be able to slow down the video for fast action video or just to make sure the rest of the family see’s something stupid another member has done! LOL. I just got the camcorder a week ago and since have been searching for the software that would fit my needs. I also don’t have a lot to spend (like the $500 adobe or Sony software!).

After some reading, most of you seem to like premier? I was also looking at Sony Vegas movie studio + DVD 6. Would like something for a “beginner” if possible… easy to use.

My PC is XP pro, 1gig ram, mediocre video card and a higher end P4 CPU (sorry at work and can’t remember exactly what it is… thinking 2.4) on board sound card on an Asus P5N32 mobo.

Thanks!

Ulead VideoStudio 11+ fits well with a lot of newbies, and is as robust as they come for “all-in-one” software. It also has a fully functional free 30 day trial. Adobe is equally popular, but may require more of a learning curve. YMMV.

Ulead Studio is a good place to start. Then after you get used to doing all the steps, and want to progress, it isn’t that expensive to buy a one off version of Vegas Video. I’m still using Vegas 5.0, and it is doing anything that I need it to do. Granted, I don’t have HDTV support with that version, but for around $40.00, I could buy additional software and use it for that function only.

The options are pretty much “the sky is the limit”. You just need to decide exactly how much control, and quality you need.